VAM Scholars (n=37)

  1. Audrey Amrein-Beardsley, Associate Professor of Educational Policy and Evaluation, Arizona State University, Email: audrey.beardsley@asu.edu
  2. Bruce Baker, Professor of Economics and Education Finance, Rutgers University, Email: bruce.baker@gse.rutgers.edu
  3. Dale Ballou, Associate Professor, Vanderbilt University, Email: dale.ballou@vanderbilt.edu
  4. David Berliner, Regents’ Professor Emeritus, Arizona State University, Email: berliner@asu.edu
  5. Damian Betebenner, Research Associate, The National Center for the Improvement of Educational Assessment, Email: dbetebenner@nciea.org
  6. Henry Braun, Boisi Professor of Education and Public Policy, Boston College, Email: braunh@bc.edu
  7. Derek Briggs, Professor of Research & Evaluation Methodology, University of Colorado Boulder, Email: derek.briggs@colorado.edu
  8. Sean Corcoran, Associate Professor of Educational Economics, New York University, Email: sean.corcoran@nyu.edu
  9. Linda Darling-HammondCharles Ducommun Professor of Education, Stanford University, Email: lindadh@suse.stanford.edu
  10. Rachel Gabriel, Assistant Professor of Literacy Education, University of Connecticut, Email: rachael.gabriel@uconn.edu
  11. Ellen Goldring, Professor, Vanderbilt University, Email: ellen.b.goldring@vanderbilt.edu
  12. Elizabeth Graue, Sorenson Professor of Curriculum and Instruction, University of Wisconsin-Madison, Email: graue@education.wisc.edu
  13. Jason Grissom, Assistant Professor of Public Policy and Education, Vanderbilt University, Email: jason.grissom@vanderbilt.edu
  14. Cassandra Guarino, Associate Professor, Indiana University Bloomington, Email: here
  15. Edward Haertel, Jacks Family Professor of Education, Emeritus, Stanford University, Email: haertel@stanford.edu
  16. Andrew Ho, Professor of Education, Harvard Graduate School of Education, Email: Andrew_Ho@gse.harvard.edu
  17. Heather Hill, Professor of Education, Harvard University, Email: heather_hill@gse.harvard.edu
  18. Kirabo Jackson, Associate Professor of Education and Economics, Northwestern University, Email: kirabo-jackson@northwestern.edu
  19. Kimberly Kappler Hewitt, Assistant Professor, University of North Carolina at Greensboro, Email: kkhewitt@uncg.edu
  20. Matthew Kraft, Assistant Professor of Education and Economics, Brown University, Email:
  21. Cory Koedel, Associate Professor of Economics and Public Policy, University of Missouri, Columbia, Email: koedelc@missouri.edu
  22. Robert Linn, Distinguished Professor Emeritus of Research & Evaluation Methodology, University of Colorado Boulder, Email: robert.linn@colorado.edu
  23. Daniel McCaffrey, Principal Research Scientist, Educational Testing Service, Email: dmccaffrey@ets.org
  24. William Mathis, Director, National Education Policy Center, University of Colorado – Boulder, Email: william.mathis@colorado.edu
  25. Susan Moore Johnson, Professor, Harvard University, Email: susan_moore_johnson@gse.harvard.edu
  26. John Papay, Assistant Professor of Education and Economics, Brown University, Email: John_Papay@brown.edu
  27. Morgan Polikoff, Assistant Professor of Education at University of Southern California, Email:
  28. Andy Porter, Professor of Education, University of Pennsylvania, Email: andyp@gse.upenn.edu
  29. Diana Pullin, Professor, Boston College School of Law, Email: pullin@bc.edu
  30. Stephen Raudenbush, Lewis-Sebring Distinguished Service Professor of Sociology, University of Chicago, Email: sraudenb@uchicago.edu
  31. Diane Ravitch, Research Professor of Education and Educational History, New York University, Email: none
  32. Mark ReckaseUniversity Distinguished Professor of Measurement and Quantitative Methods, Michigan State University, Email: reckase@msu.edu
  33. Jesse RothsteinAssociate Professor of Public Policy and Economics, University of California Berkeley, Email: rothstein@berkeley.edu
  34. Jimmy Scherrer, Assistant Professor, North Carolina State, Email:
    jscherr@ncsu.edu
  35. Matthew Springer, Assistant Professor Public Policy and Education, Vanderbilt University, Email: matthew.g.springer@vanderbilt.edu
  36. Katherine Strunk, Associate Professor, University of Southern California, Email:
  37. Benjamin Superfine, Associate Professor of Law, University of Illinois at Chicago, Email: bsuperfi@uic.edu

*If you have any recommendations for this list, please let me know

One thought on “VAM Scholars (n=37)

  1. The list seems US dominated. If others are allowed on the list I’d start with Harvey Goldstein (and others from his group). His 1991 paper (Harvey Goldstein. Better ways to compare schools? Journal of Educational Statistics, 16(2):89–91, 1991.) was a clear warning to those using these methods and his Royal Statistical Society discussion paper (with David Spiegehalter, the World Loop champion) in 1996 was important for the field. Goldstein also was fundamental in the development of these procedures (e.g., his 1987 book, Multilevel Models in Educational and Social Research, and more recent editions) and the associated software (MLwiN). He continues to address problems on the difficulties with these models (e.g., Foley & Goldstein’s report to the British Academy [http://www.bristol.ac.uk/media-library/sites/cmm/migrated/documents/measuringsuccess.pdf], his review in Annals of Applied Statistics [http://www.bristol.ac.uk/media-library/sites/cmm/migrated/documents/league-tables-technical-review.pdf], and recently with George Leckie in a report about recent changes in UK evaluations [oh, had read it just as a tech rep, it is out now http://onlinelibrary.wiley.com/doi/10.1002/berj.3264/abstract). George Leckie is another name I’d add to the list (e.g., http://onlinelibrary.wiley.com/doi/10.1111/j.1467-985X.2009.00597.x/abstract).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *